Skip to main content
29th April 2024

Craft Guild extends National Chef of the Year entry window

Written by: Edward Waddell
Due to the demands on chef’s time, the Craft Guild of Chefs has given competitors longer to enter its prestigious National Chef of the Year competition.

Entries have been extended until Tuesday 28th May. This means chefs still have a month to design and serve up an award-winning menu that could impress Matt Abé from three Michelin-starred Restaurant Gordon Ramsay and his panel of judges.

Competitors are required to produce a three-course celebration menu. The theme for the starter is ‘This is me‘, and chefs are asked to create a fish, seafood or vegetarian dish that reflects their own identity and unique personality. Chefs should consider ethnicity, heritage, background influences and even the environment where they grew up. 

A lamb dish is required for the main course using two cuts of Lumina lamb from a series of options. It should be suitably garnished and capable of being cooked within a three-hour period.

An impressive chocolate finale is required for dessert. This can be hot or cold but must showcase the flavours of Valrhona Chocolate. Competitors must showcase chocolate as the focal point of the dessert, and it should complement the rest of the menu.

You can register to be involved and complete your entry at:

Chair of judges for NCOTY Abé said: “Being a chef is a busy and demanding job but experiences like National Chef of the Year are too good to miss so I would recommend all talented chefs use this deadline extension as an opportunity to enter.

“To give a little teaser of what’s next in the competition, I’ve got a really thought-provoking and exciting brief lined up for the semi-finalists which I know is going to inspire chefs to show us their creativity. To be in with a chance of being in that top 40, use this extra time wisely, show us who you are as a chef and create a menu that will stand out from the rest.”

Essential Cuisine and Lumina are headline partners of National Chef of the Year, which is also supported by Churchill, Continental Chef Supplies (CCS), Evolve Group, Hallgarten & Novum Wines, Valrhona, Classic Fine Foods, St Ewe and Gastronomy Plus.