Skip to main content
15th April 2024

Craft Guild of Chefs duo honoured at Springboard Awards

Written by: Edward Waddell
Craft Guild of Chefs vice presidents Steve Munkley and David Mulcahy were among the 20 winners at the Springboard Awards for Excellence 2024, which took place at the InterContinental Park Lane.

The awards celebrated those that have gone above and beyond to grow their organisations, look after their people and champion the industry. The 2024 Awards for Excellence raised a total of £175,310 for the Springboard Charity through sponsorship, tickets sales and fundraising on the night.

The evening began with the Fiona Colley Trainee of the Year Award. Winner Sophie Pace-Balzan was recognised for showing ‘tenacity and passion’ to overcome challenges which had previously prevented her from finding employment.

Steve Munkley, David Mulcahy and Brian Turner received the Chris Beaumont Outstanding Achievement Award to honour their 25 years of support for the FutureChef school cooking competition and supporting the next generation of culinary talent.

Eden Hotel Collection, Rare Restaurants and Z Hotels were also double winners on the night, while Sodexo scooped the new Partner of the Year award.

Chris Gamm, chief executive of Springboard, said: “In congratulating the winners of the Springboard Awards for Excellence, we recognise the remarkable achievements within the hospitality industry. These awards create a brilliant occasion for us to come together and acknowledge the outstanding contributions of our industry highlighting their exceptional successes and highly talented teams.

“Once again, the support in the room for the finalists and winners was outstanding. The InterContinental Park Lane has provided us with the perfect setting to be together, offer our congratulations and to celebrate the greatness of our industry. The more than £175,000 raised was a record for the event and will help an enormous number of people gain news skills and secure work in the hospitality industry.”

The full list of winners:

  • Fiona Colley Trainee of the Year Award: Sophie Pace-Balzan
  • Best Recruitment Initiative Award: Z Hotels
  • Best Apprenticeship Strategy Award: Greene King
  • Employee Engagement Award: Eden Hotel Collection
  • Best Training Programme Award: Leonardo Hotels
  • Career Development Initiative Award: RARE Restaurants
  • Best Use of Technology Award: The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
  • Talent Development Team of the Year Award: Z Hotels
  • Employee Health and Wellbeing Award: Eden Hotel Collection
  • Community Engagement Award: Aurora Foxes
  • Disability Champion Award: Hilton
  • Diversity, Equality and Inclusion Award: RARE Restaurants
  • Best Education and Industry Partnership Award: Academy by Simon Rogan 
  • Sustainable Business Award: Apex Hotels
  • Springboard Ambassador of the Year: Kyle Basnett, Gusto Restaurants
  • Best Employer Award: The Belfry Hotel & Resort
  • Partner of the Year: Sodexo
  • Chris Beaumont Outstanding Contribution Award: Steve Munkley, David Mulcahy & Brian Turner