Skip to main content
19th April 2022

Craft Guild of Chefs names shortlisted nominees for 2022 Awards

Written by: Edward Waddell
The Craft Guild of Chefs has named the shortlisted nominees for the 2022 Awards, which will be announced on 9 June at Magazine London.

After a year when we recognised our culinary heroes, the Awards are returning for 2022 in their usual way. The Craft Guild of Chefs will present a Special Award to the chef who, above all others, has made an outstanding contribution to the industry.

The Craft Guild of Chefs Awards are seen as the chefs’ Oscars recognising the exceptional talent across the whole of our industry – from apprentice and young chefs just starting out to chefs who are established in their careers in hospitality, pubs and restaurants.

The nominees include:

Apprentice Chef Award:

  • Chi-Hin Cheung Gilpin, Hotel and Lake House
  • Grace Hawksley, Gravetye
  • Lola Mayhead, Goodwood


Armed Services Chef Award:

  • Major Shaun Collins-Lindsay, Army
  • WO Jonathan Smith, RAF
  • LCS Matthew Tew, Royal Navy


Banqueting and Event Chef Award:

  • Mark Fletcher, Churche's Mansion, Nantwich
  • Aaron Johnson-Waters, Amadeus
  • Ian Page


Chef Lecturer Award:

  • Darren Creed, Loughborough College
  • Anthony Gascoigne, North Hertfordshire College
  • Jose Souto, Westminster Kingsway College
  • Len Unwin, Sheffield College


Chef’s Favourite Branded Restaurant:

  • Browns Brasserie & Bar
  • Café Rouge
  • Cote Brasserie
  • Miller & Carter
  • Oakman Inns
  • Wagamama


Competition Chef Award:

  • Jamie Gibbs, Absolute Taste
  • Graham Mitchell, The Newmachar Hotel
  • Graham Singer, Compass Group UK & Ireland


Contract Catering Chef Award:

  • Wayne Corbet, 14 Forty UK
  • Karl Griffiths, Sodexo
  • Ottavio Saldarini, Bennett Hay Ltd
  • Steve Wylie, Sodexo


Culinary Hero Award (formerly the People’s Choice Award):

  • David Hearn, Compass Group ESS
  • Gary Kilminster & Robin Dudley, Essential Cuisine
  • Nicole Pisani, Chefs in Schools
  • NHS Chefs Academy
  • Derek Wright, Blackpool Council


Development Chef Award:

  • Vicky Enderson, MSK Ingredients
  • Terry O’Riordan,
  • Stephen Scuffell, Gourmet Classics


Innovation in Sustainability

  • Chantelle Nicholson, Apricity
  • Jason Danciger, Hana Group
  • Paul Green, The Torridon


New Restaurant of the Year Award:

  • Sally Abé, The Pem
  • Aji Akokomi, Akoko
  • Alex Payne, Crockers Henley
  • Luke Selby, Evelyn’s Table


Pastry Chef Award:

  • Alistair Birt, Head Chef Harrods
  • Ben Crocker, Tottenham Hotspur Football Club
  • Mark Perkins, Rosewood London
  • Shona Sutherland, Taystful


Pub Restaurant Chef Award:

  • Simon Harris, The Embankment, Bedford (Peach Pubs)
  • Nick Hemming, The Heron Inn, Malpas
  • Nina Matsunaga, The Black Bull, Sedburgh


Public Sector Chef Award:

  • Jake Barwood, Totteridge Academy
  • Ben Morris, Country Court, The Grange
  • Carol Vallejo, Royal Holloway


Restaurant Chef Award:

  • Paul Askew, The Art School
  • Ruth Hansom, The Princess of Shoreditch
  • Dan McGeorge, Rothay Manor


Young Chef Award:

  • AS Shaun Downs, Royal Navy
  • Matthew Gallagher, Hand Picked Hotels
  • Jamie Rowe, Tim’s Bistro

The cost per ticket is £195 + VAT, Craft Guild members get BOGOF (limited spaces), go direct to to book your place.